Let’s scream

I wasn’t too sure what to make of the idea of a new scream movie. Considering I hated the 4th instalment. But hey you know me I will give things a try (to an acceptable extent)

So what did I make of it? Well it started off well, had less humour (which I liked) and the tone felt completely different compared to the previous four movies; and I liked the premise, it worked within its own little narrative. Fast paced and seeing the original members of the cast back was nice. At this point I was feeling happy. I felt this is the sequel the original scream deserved. It felt a tad more adult .

But sadly my jovial disposition changed dramatically as act 3 began and we finally found out who the killer was and the nefarious reason behind the deaths of these poor people. And that is where I was hit with what I call movie related depression. (Of course I am not going to ruin it and suddenly go into the twists) but I will say I hated the outcome. For me the closing totally ruined what looked like a good instalment. I got so angry I walked out and didn’t even make it to the credits. (And I don’t normally do that I even braved it till the end with Batman vs superman)

I just felt short changed with the ending, if the film felt more tonally the same as the previous three I think I might have been able to accept the ending in a small way. But I just couldn’t find anything right with how the filmmakers ended the film. It felt a tad lazy and ruined what potential the film had. (Obviously it would never have won any awards) but maybe it’s just me, but I feel that the makers ruined the film with how it ended.

It makes it more sadder as scream i reality always failed with its sequels. The second instalment was ok; third one was watchable and the 4th one was just annoying. Sadly the trailer makes the film look really good and in most part it was. Yes it wasn’t perfect. But it didn’t deserve to end the way it did. (And may I say I left about six or so minutes before it finished)

So would I recommend it! Truthfully no not really, but as I always say we will always have different views on films. So the choice is yours. It would have been better if the whole film sucked. But sadly started off well and just fell flat at the end, the rather lazy conclusion made the experience of watching the film a huge disappointment.

I am off to look for that device they used in men in black…. As my memories needs to be erased ASAP.

Though I will probably have to watch it again as got told that there is a bit at the end which might change my mind 😀

Thanks for reading

Categories:

Leave a comment