Venom: Round 2

Currently sat pensively at the odeon cinema in Leicester square, as the humdrum boredom i call commercials obliterate any desire to purchase any of the adverted products. I am waiting for Venom: let there be carnage to begin, there is a slight taste of dread about this film. As Venom is one of my favourite marvel characters and Tom Hardy being one of my favourite actors this should have been a marriage made in heaven. I liked the first film, but for me it suffered with irrelevant humour; and my fears that the second instalment would suffer with the same. And of course Carnage movie translation worries me; as you cannot do a perfect carnage in a 15 rated movie. He’s to psychotic for that.

Though Woody Harrelson’s casting as Cletus/carnage seems perfect, i am sitting here with a low to mid sense of expectations, of course i am praying to the movie gods that my fears are unwarranted, i so want to write a glowing review.

Thankfully my worries where unfounded; granted there was more humour in this one, but i found it enjoyable. If you enjoyed the first film then you will definitely enjoy this one. I didn’t realise Andy Serkis directed. And that Tom Hardy co-wrote it.

I love how Carnage is portrayed (obviously not the most accurate) but my fears of his character being way too watered down where unfounded, of course this film will obviously garner some negative reviews as i have a read a few, but i found the film enjoyable; ok it may not be oscar worthy or to be labelled movie of the year. Or maybe not even in the top 10 list, but i liked it. It had more scope to play with as the first film covered the origins of Eddie Brock. Well ok it kinda left out if venom had previously bonded with spiderman. But who cares right?

I also think the running time helps it as it doesn’t get bogged down with pointless narratives, it is worth a watch i would say yes it is. It is a improvement over the first film (which i liked)

Overall good effects a relatively good story and Tom Hardy what more can be said.

Categories:

Leave a comment